a / r asbl – art-recherche (art and research) - is a non-profit organization for the support, exchange, circulation and promotion of arts research in the Ecoles Supérieures des Arts (Higher Schools of Arts) of the Wallonia-Brussels Federation (FWB)

Arts research?

This platform came to life in acknowledgement of the diversity of emergent arts practices which, particularly in art schools, invent their own research methodology immanent to the questions at hand, thus creating new fields of inquiry and knowledge.
Artistic creation is fundamentally unpredictable, unexpected, and even unverifiable, thus evading all pre-defined notions of what research in the arts can mean prior to being practised. It similarly eludes all subsequent systematization, or all uniformity of procedure and methodology. So it is essential to establish evaluation and identification strategies that are tailored to these particular objects.

This task will be carried out , among others, in close collaboration with the FRArt (Fonds de la recherche artistique within the Fonds National de la Recherche Scientifique (FNRS) and its International Artistic Committee. The FRArt organises calls for projects which will be financially supported.

Artistic research dissemination

a / r asbl intends to help the dissemination of research in art by playing a role of archiving and making available to the public the various research projects that emerge within the Higher Schools of Arts.

It is important that this artistic research, like other research, does not remain confined to the places where it emerges, but is accessible to other artist-researchers as well as to the general public. For this reason, a / r asbl is committed to the dissemination and circulation of this research.

In addition to the dissemination and archiving of the research projects supported by FRArt, the platform also offers information about the theses in progress or completed in FWB within the framework of the doctoral programme in art and art sciences organised by the Universities in collaboration with the Higher Schools of Arts.

The platform is also a place for archiving and making available the various research conducted in the Higher Schools of Arts or by their artist-researchers and associate researchers, and their teacher-researchers.

a / r asbl is the fruit of a reflection process carried out for many years by the Higher Schools of Art within what was then known as the Higher Council of Higher Eduction in Art of the Wallonia-Brussels Federation (CSESA). In 2012 the CSESA organized an international colloquium in order to review the situation. The event titled "Einstein/Duchamp and after? Research in Higher Schools of Art" took place at the Palais des Académies in Brussels in November 2014.
The colloquium opened the debate, turning an internal CSESA debatee into one of larger, public interest. The number of participants and the quality of the audience’s attention proved how necessary and urgent it is to talk about this essential question and find a way for institutions to promote this research, the nature of which demands an original approach within the panorama of higher education.
If the colloquium brought to light the richness and general interest in research projects developed in art schools in Europe and elsewhere in the world, it also revealed the existence of well-structured, high-quality research already taking place within certain Higher Schools of Art in the Wallonia-Brussels Federation.
The CSESA considered that it was necessary to highlight these research initiatives and reinforce the dynamics already in place by creating a platform to support and promote research, exchanges of practice, and availability of resources. And as a result, it created a / r asbl and its artistic council.

In 2016 and 2017, a / r asbl, thanks to a public grant, organised international calls for artistic research projects and financially supported the 10 selected research projects.

In 2018, at the initiative of the FWB Government, the Fonds de Recherche en Art (FRArt) was created by decree. The FRArt receives an annual grant of 250000 euros. From 2019 onwards, it is the FRArt which organises the calls for proposals, while a/r asbl organises the dissemination, archiving and diffusion of research.

It is important to emphasize that artistic research should not be mistaken for scientific research wherein art becomes an object of study, as it is treated in art history faculties for example.

A/R

As a platform for the support and dissemination of artistic research, from 2015 to 2018, a / r asbl operated under a peer-review system. A/R has established an artistic committee for this purpose. The online platform a / r asbl publishes the following projects:

FRArt

Since 2018, the a / r asbl Artistic Committee has been integrated into FRArt which respects the way of working and the way artistic research is practised within Higher Schools of Art

FRArt validates the calls for projects that have been previously examined and selected by each EsA. The Artistic Committee, half of which is renewed every two years, analyses the submitted projects and makes a selection. Depending on the available means and the quality of the proposals, FRArt supports research projects through the awarding of a grant.

Doctoral school 20 / ED20

Doctoral School 20 thesis projects have their own academic evaluation system, based on Universities and Higher Schools of Art

Research in Higher Schools of Art

Higher Schools of Art -specific research projects are evaluated/defined by the Higher Schools of Art themselves.

a/r asbl

a / r asbl is managed by a Board of Directors.

The Board of Directors of a / r asbl, renewed every 3 years, stimulates the development of research policy, sits on the Board of the FRArt, and, in this capacity, participates in the elaboration of the calls for projects, and in the designation of the members of the artistic committee.

The Board of a / r asbl is elected by the General Assembly.

Representatives of all the Schools of Arts in the Wallonia-Brussels Federation that are members of a / r asbl sit on the General Assembly.

a / r asbl – art-recherche – est une association de soutien, d’échange, de diffusion et de promotion de la recherche en art en Ecole supérieure des Arts en Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles.

La recherche en art?

C’est en prenant acte de l’émergence, notamment au sein des écoles d’arts, de pratiques artistiques diversifiées qui inventent des méthodologies de recherche appropriées aux questions qui s’y forgent, créant ainsi un nouveau champ d’investigation et de nouveaux savoirs, que cette plateforme a vu le jour

Le caractère nécessairement imprévu, improuvable, de la création artistique déjoue toute définition de ces recherches en art préalablement à leurs expérimentations pratiques. Cette réalité de la recherche élude d’une manière similaire toute systématisation ultérieure, ou toute uniformisation de procédures ou de méthodologies. Il importe donc de mettre en place des stratégies d’identification et de valorisation adaptées à ces objets particuliers.

Cette mission se fera entre autre en étroite collaboration avec le FRArt (Fonds de la recherche artistique au sein du FNRS) et son Comité artistique international. Le FRArt organise les appels à projets qui seront soutenus financièrement.

La diffusion de la recherche en art

a / r asbl entend aider à la diffusion de la recherche en art en jouant un rôle d’archivage et de mise à disposition publique des différents projets de recherche qui voient le jour au sein des EsA ou dans leur voisinage.

Il importe que ces recherches artistiques, à l’instar d’autres recherches, ne restent pas confinées dans les lieux qui les voient émerger, mais soient accessibles tant aux autres artistes-chercheurs qu’au public le plus large. La dissémination et la mise en circulation de ces recherches est une responsabilité que a / r asbl entend assumer.

En plus de la diffusion et l’archivage des projets de recherche soutenus par le FRArt, la plateforme propose également des informations relatives aux thèses en cours ou terminées en FWB dans le cadre du doctorat en art et sciences de l’art organisé par les Universités en collaboration avec les Écoles supérieures des arts.

La plateforme est aussi un lieu d’archivage et de mise à disposition de différentes recherches qui sont menées dans les EsA ou par leurs artistes-chercheurs et chercheuses associé.e. s, et leurs enseignant.e.s-chercheurs et chercheuses

a / r asbl résulte d’une réflexion menée depuis plusieurs années, par les Écoles supérieures des Arts, au sein de ce qui était alors le Conseil supérieur de l’Enseignement supérieur artistique de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles. En 2012, le CSESA, afin de faire le point sur cette situation, a organisé, un colloque international qui s’est tenu les 28 et 29 novembre au Palais des Académies à Bruxelles : « Einstein / Duchamp et après ? La recherche en Ecole supérieure des arts »

Le colloque permit de sortir le débat de l’enceinte du CSESA pour en faire une question publique. Le nombre de participant.e.s et la qualité de l’écoute de l’assemblée montrèrent la nécessité et l’urgence de discuter de cette question essentielle et de trouver une réponse institutionnelle à la promotion de cette recherche dont la nature très particulière nécessite une approche originale dans le panorama de l’enseignement supérieur.

Si ce colloque a permis de mettre en lumière la richesse et l’intérêt des projets de recherche développés dans les Ecoles d’art en Europe et ailleurs dans le monde, il a également révélé l’existence de projets de recherche, structurés et de qualité, au sein de certaines Ecoles supérieures des Arts de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles.

Le CSESA estima qu’il était nécessaire de valoriser ces recherches et de renforcer les dynamiques qui sont déjà à l’œuvre en créant une plateforme de soutien et de diffusion des recherches, d’échanges de pratiques et de mise à disposition de ressources, en mettant sur pied, en 2014, l’asbl a / r et son Comité artistique.

En 2016 et 2017, a/r asbl, grâce à une subvention publique, a organisé des appels à projets de recherche artistique internationaux et soutenu financièrement les 10 projets de recherche sélectionnés.

En 2018, à l’initiative du Gouvernement de la FWB le Fonds de Recherche en Art (FRArt) a été créé par décret. Il est doté de 250000 euros annuels. A partir de 2019, c’est le FRArt qui organise les appels à projets, a/r asbl s’occupant de la dissémination, de l’archivage et de la diffusion des recherches.

Soulignons que la recherche en art ne doit pas être confondue avec la recherche scientifique prenant l’art pour sujet d’étude telle qu’elle peut se développer dans les faculté d’histoire de l’art par exemple.

A/R

En tant que plateforme de soutien et de diffusion des recherches artistiques, de 2015 à 2018, A/R a fonctionné selon un système d’évaluation par les pairs. A/R s’est doté d’un comité artistique à cette fin. La plateforme en ligne A/R publie les projets suivants :

FRArt

Depuis 2018, le comité artistique d’A/R a été intégré au FRArt en respectant notre manière de fonctionner.

Le FRArt valide les appels à projets préalablement instruits et sélectionnés par chaque EsA. Le comité artistique, renouvelé par moitié tous les deux ans, analyse les projets soumis et sélectionne ceux qu’il considère pouvoir être soutenus. En fonction des moyens disponibles et de la qualité des propositions, le FRArt soutient les projets de recherche par l’attribution d’une subvention.

Ecole doctorale 20

Les projets de thèse de l’école doctorale 20 ont leur propre système d’évaluation académique, reposant sur les Universités et les EsA.

Recherche en EsA

Les projets de recherche propres aux EsA sont évalués/définis par les EsA elles-mêmes.

a/r asbl

a/r asbl est dirigée par un Conseil d’administration.

Le Conseil d’administration d’a/r, renouvelé tous les 3 ans, impulse notamment la politique de recherche, il siège au CA du FRArt, et, à ce titre, participe à l’élaboration des appels à projets, et à la désignation des membres du comité artistique.

Le CA d’a/r asbl est élu par l’assemblée générale.

Des représentant.e.s de toutes les Ecoles supérieures des Arts en Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles membres d’a/r, siègent à l’assemblée générale.